Posted on

Grunge is Back in Style (Part 1)

Effortlessly cool. (Photo courtesy of dreamstime.com)

Or at least that’s what all the fashion magazines are saying.

Now, I know the word “grunge” doesn’t sound like a good thing. In fact, it sounds a little scary, right? The word makes the average person think of dark plaid-y prints, people with lots of threatening tattoos, and angsty men with greasy hair. Gernerally, people don’t think of grunge as a good thing.

One would think that grunge music would follow this general trend… and it does… sorta. It’s gritty, it’s angry, and it’s dark-ish. It’s not the kind of music that people listen to when they want to dance or feel happy. The thing is, the lyrics are gloomy because most of the time, they’re real.

Grunge is basically a sub-genre of rock that was born into the mid-80s. By the 90s, it was pretty popular. In my opinion, most of the best 90s rock songs double as grunge songs. The really weird thing is that most great grunge bands came out of Seattle.

Grunge music combines punk and hard rock, slows it down to a chill tempo, and twists the lyrics up (but in a good way). It’s not the style for everyone. However, I recommend it to anyone who likes rock. I’ve compiled some of the best grunge bands I can think of below, and listed some songs to explore.

Stone Temple Pilots
This is one of those band that you know a lot of their songs, but you don’t know the band that plays them. Take a look at some of the songs I listed, and you may be surprised. I knew more about Stone Temple Pilots then I though I did while I was doing my research.

This video is for “Trippin’ On A Hole In a Paper Heart.” You’ll probably recognize it.


Also try:
-“Plush”
-“Interstate Love Song”
-“Vasoline”

Alice in Chains
You either like Alice in Chains, or you don’t because you don’t understand them. I admit, they have dark music. I’ve listed my favorites. Don’t worry, you won’t be disturbed. Here’s one I really like called “No Excuses.”


Also try:
-“Rooster” (which is about the Vietnam War… pretty cool)
-“Would?”
-“Hollow” (just came out this January!)

Nirvana
I get it. Nirvana doesn’t need an introduction because everyone knows them, unless they’ve been living in closet for the past twenty years.

I chose to post this live video of “Come As You Are.” It’s from at concert in Reading in 1992. And no, I don’t know why Kurt Cobain is wearing… whatever that is he’s wearing.


Also try:
-“Heart Shaped Box”
-“Smells Like Teen Spirit”

Pearl Jam
Anyway, on a another note, here’s some Pearl Jam. I think everyone’s at least heard of them. I don’t know why, but I just like the name Pearl Jam. It makes me think about… blueberry jam.

Enough about blueberries. Here’s a live version of “Better Man.”


Also try:
-“Jeremy”
-“Black”
-“Alive”
-“Just Breathe”

Soundgarden
Soundgarden actually made a song for the Avengers not too long ago (“Live to Rise”). I still like their older stuff better, though.

“Burden in My Hand” is an awesome example of how grunge music works. It sounds fun… almost happy. Then you listen to the lyrics and realize that it’s actaully a little depressing.


Also try:
-“Black Hole Sun”
-“Fell on Black Days”

I could list grunge songs all day, but I can’t be everyone’s personal music stylist now, can I? Now you may be wondering, why did I call this part one? Stay tuned, and you’ll find out. Oh, the anticipation! 😉

P.S. The record player and video camera in the title? That’s what this theme’s font uses as parenthesis. I don’t know if it’s cool or confusing.

Leave a comment