Posted on

Breaking Out a Spring Playlist

Get pumped for sun, warmth, and good music!
(Photo courtesy of s5.favim.com)

Season’s greetings! And by “seasons,” I mean the season of spring. Now that it finally looks like something other than January, I thought it was about time to put together a fun playlist that suits this time of year.

A few weeks ago when I was writing about grunge, a thought occured to me: There are some folks out here in this universe who don’t exactly like all rock all the time. It’s true, people. I know it may be a hard one to swallow, and you may not even believe that bit of information, but my studies show it to be legit. Here’s another shocker: Some people even prefer other genres over rock. Including pop. I’m still not sure how that one is possible.

Anyway, I decided to make this playlist to appeal to a wide variety of my readers. The songs I chose are fun and energetic and not scary. So enjoy. This one’s on me.

“Headphones” by Little Boots

I heard this song in a store, and I thought it was really cute. Little Boots is an English singer/songwriter, and judging by her stage name (her real name is Victoria Hesketh), she has smallish feet. Rumor has it that they’re size threes (I remember when my feet were that small… when I was in third grade). She shoots for an electropop style, which fits the current music fad.

“I Love It” by Icona Pop featuring Charli XCX

I. Am. So. Mad. Here’s why: I planned on writing this post weeks ago. I heard this song on a commercial, and I thought, Hey! I’ll use that for my springtime post! Then, BANG! Top ten list on iTunes. This is why I gave up on pop. For some reason, a song doesn’t mean as much when everyone you know can sing it. Even if it’s a good song, it just loses that personal touch. I think it makes a song harder to connect to, to feel.

Whatevs. Icona Pop is a mega-glam Swedish girl-power duo. “I Love It” is such an upbeat song… just watch out if you take offense to language. Don’t worry- it’s not too harsh (s, b, and d).

“What If the Storm Ends?” by Snow Patrol

Just for the record, I’m calling this one. In two months, it’ll be the next big thing. It’s that hipster-ish alternative that isn’t too weird for the average Joe. This song is the one used in the original commercial for Pixar’s upcoming movie, Epic.

To my dismay, you can’t just buy this song off iTunes… yet (until the Epic soundtrack comes out at least). That’s because it is part two of a three part song called “The Lightning Strike.” Yes, one song, three parts, fifteen minutes. And frankly, I’m not buying the whole shabang because I really only care for this part. It is such a lovely song…


Sorry, but this was the best I could find.

“The High Road” by Three Days Grace

I couldn’t help myself. I neeeeed an electric guitar fix here.

Now, I want you to put everything you know (or think you know) about Three Days Grace, and put it aside. This is a nice song. Maybe even pleasant. Even if you don’t dig rock, I think you’ll still enjoy it. It’s just a very versatile song.

“Railroad Track” by Willy Moon

I literally just stumbled upon this.

What isn’t this song? It’s fifties. It’s bluesy. It’s hip-hop. It’s American, although this dude is from New Zealand. And honestly, it’s a little creepy. The video gives me chills.

And there you are. Hope you like these fab five. šŸ˜‰

Got an awesome springtime song? Drop me a comment, and maybe I’ll feature it!

One response to “Breaking Out a Spring Playlist

  1. Ugh! Sorry about the awful spacing. I can’t seem to fix it, not matter how many times I hit the enter key.

Leave a comment