Posted on

Happy Birthday to Us!

Cake is my BFF. (Photo courtesy of thecompletecupcake.com)

I logged on to WordPress today. I knew my blog was turning one year old in the beginning of this month, so I figured I would finish the post I was working on before starting a birthday post. HOWEVER, I had a message saying that SML was born a year ago today. I had no clue! So I didn’t have time to prepare a grand post. I am a bad blog parent. 😦

I also recently celebrated my own birthday, if anyone cares. Probably not.

So keeping with the birthday theme, I created this blog a year ago today. I sat down for a few hours on a Saturday morning, pouring over thousands and thousands of themes. I’ve really come a long way since then. I remember my first post was about the Grammys, which I didn’t even care about that much. For crying out loud, I didn’t even know there was a difference between record of the year and song of the year. Since then, my music vocab has increased ridiculously, my library has doubled in size, and I’ve developed the ability to identify almost any noteworthy rock song that was made in the past twenty-five years. Seriously, it’s so crazy, it’s almost sad. I’ll be in the car with someone and a song will come on the radio and I’m just like, “[Band name], [Song title]… from their album [Album name]… about [Year released]… Great music video.”

Besides making me into a total music nerd, my blog has also made me a better writer. Well, I hope it has. I always feel so cool when I meet people and I say, “Oh, yeah, I have a music blog.” It’s just extra style points, even if no one reads said blog.

All in all, I’ve had a great journey with SML. And it’s far from over. I’ve updated my “About” page (check it out). Also, don’t forget about the trusty search bar and archive menu waaaaay down there at the bottom of the screen. I’m still thinking of a way I can make them more accessible. As for the year to come, I hope to post more often… We’ll see how that goes.

I was going to make a really sick playlist, but I need to finish this today, so that’s not going to happen (an average post takes me two to three days, actually). So what do I do when I have no time and need to include at least one video in a post? Fill it with Foo Fighters.

This song always gets me pumped. I love the energy in it, and hopefully some will rub off on me to continue blogging for many years to come! 😉


I will never, ever get over how cool Dave Grohl is.

Leave a comment